Apologies and Excuses

Good Afternoon,

As you may have noticed, I have been a little absent for the past couple months. First off, I am sorry for my departure. Work had me a little more busy than I really wanted to be, and extra time was spent sleeping, eating, and doing laundry. Unfortunately, this left little time for working on the blog and writing new posts. However, I was able to continue with some extra brewing, and will be bringing these recipes to you very soon.

We have also had a couple of other new developments. I believe I mentioned that Jess and I are now engaged. We have been working hard in our spare moments together on plans for the wedding, even though it is still about two years in the future. We intend on having a lot of fun at our wedding, as well as serving a lot of homebrew at the reception.

The second new development: It seems that Jess may have a strong intolerance to gluten. For those in the know, beer, being made from barley, tends to have a decent amount of gluten in it. Also, many of the gluten free beers out there tend to taste absolutely horrible. However, there is a product from Whitelabs (which I have recently had shipped) that will break down the gluten in beer while it is fermenting. I have recently made a batch of a date and fig wheat beer, and will be doing an identical brew also using the wonderful extra ingredient. I know, I expect horrible results and all; but, if it tastes good and Jess is able to drink it without issue, then I will see it as a victory in the brewing world.

Once again, I apologize for being away for so long, and I will do my best to make it up to everyone. I have some great brews to try out, and some great homebrews to introduce you to as well.

In the hopes of further brewing fun,

Jason

Weigh In

